Scottish Working People's History Trust

Trustee Meetings

The next meeting of the Trust will be held on Tuesday 10 January 2023


  •  Michael Allan, Summerlee Heritage Trust
  •  Bernard Beagan, UNITE
  •  Ms Elizabeth Bryan, Age Scotland [Chair]
  •  Joyce Connon, formerly Director of the Workers’ Educational Association
  •  Dr Hugh Hagan, National Archives of Scotland
  •  Dorothy Kidd, formerly Curator at National Museums of Scotland [Secretary]
  •  Dr Cathlin Macaulay, School of Scottish Studies, University of Edinburgh
  •  Janet McBain, formerly Curator Scottish Screen Archive [Treasurer]
  •  Ian D McGowan, formerly Librarian, National Library of Scotland
  •  Mr Alan Reid, Past President Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals in Scotland (CILIPS)
  •  Professor Emerita Siân Reynolds, historian, University of Stirling
  •  Amina Shah, National Librarian and Chief Executive, NLS
  •  Martyn Wade, formerly National Librarian


  • Dr Neal Acherson, writer, historian and journalist
  • Gordon Dalyell, solicitor
  • Dr Catriona Macdonald, Glasgow  University
  • Professor Chris Whatley, historian, University of Dundee
  • Lord Wheatley, Senator of the College of Justice
  • David Fletcher, publishing consultant and author’s agent
  • Professor Emeritus W. Hamish Fraser, historian, University of Strathclyde

Research Workers:

The Trust’s main research worker was the late Dr Ian MacDougall, one of the leading practitioners in Oral History, who retired in 2013.

Other voluntary research workers are:

  • Neil Macvicar on farm workers
  • Julia Bohlmann on Co-operative Society workers
  • Veronica Hartwich on workers at the Volvo truck plant, Irvine

Meeting Minutes:

14th January 2020

9th June 2020

12th January 2021

8th June 2021

11th January 2022




charity number